AWARDS

  • Voted “BEST DELI ” – Improper Bostonian
  • “BEST REUBEN” – Boston Globe Magazine
  • “BEST POTATO LATKES” – Boston Herald
  • “BARRY’S VILLAGE DELI IS A HIDDEN JEWEL” –
    The Phantom Gourmet – NE Cable News
  • “READERS CHOICE – BEST NY STYLE DELI”  Tab
  • “THE BEST OF MASSACHUSETTS – BEST POTATO SALAD” John T. Alexander
  • “40-YEAR WABAN SQUARE LANDMARK” – Boston Sunday Globe – Calendar Section
Media Awards

Great Deli in Newton

SBPiscesSBPisces (casual diner), 7 Jan 2008, 14:13
Star
0/0 people found this review useful

Barry’s Village Deli is a well-known delicatessen in Newton (specifically the village Waban.) It has been around for many many years and they serve very fresh meats, breads, salads, etc. They have continuously made amazing breakfasts (trust me, I lived up the street from them for 20+ years) and they are always fast and nice. The best is when you go to a party and it is catered by Barry’s; everyone loves the food. Definitely try Barry’s if you are looking for a good delicatessen.

Food Critics.com

Chicken Salad and Pastrami Rachel”

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed July 24, 2015 

Newton, Massachusetts,

Holy cow. Either of these sandwiches are my favorite. The chicken salad doesn’t have too much mayo and has celery, as it should. The Rachel has the most delicious pastrami. It’s busy at lunch. For take out, order before!

  • Visited July 2015
Trip Advisor Review

Regulars describe Barry’s as the “finest” deli in all of Boston, raving particularly about its traditional thinly-sliced beef tongue sandwich. According to one Yelper, “Barry’s is as close as you can get to a true NY style deli up here.”

CBS Boston Review

“Another terrific turkey reuben sandwich!!”

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed April 5, 2015 

Darnestown

This past Friday, we went for lunch at Barry’s and had a wonderful experience, as always. Linda had a chopped liver sandwich on a soft challah roll. Scrumptious. The folks at the table next to us were having matzah ball soup and they (the matzah balls) were LARGE and fluffy! I had my traditional turkey reuben on seeded rye, with Barry’s home made coleslaw and it was simply TERRIFIC. Fortunately, our son and his family moved to Waban some years ago, within easy walking distance of Waban Center and Barry’s. So, every chance I get I go for a turkey reuben and it is always wonderful. Can’t wait to get back.

  • Visited April 2015
Trip Advisor Review

Jennifer McCullough  Sept 2016

One of the best Reuben’s you’ll find in this state! Get it on dark rye! I find the service to be wonderful at each and every visit! Oh, and treat yourself to a piece of Rugelach, it’s to die for!

Google Review

Jeremy K.  Waltham, MA

Barry’s Village Deli has been in business since 1970, providing the area with all kinds of delicious deil-inspired food including sandwiches piled high as well matzo soup, knishes, blintzes, pancakes, lox and many, many more things. From half sour pickles and grapenut custard, to creamed herring and latkas, their offerings are extensive and you’ll be able to enjoy them on the spot or to-go.

The place has history and it feels like it upon walking in. Many people’s bubbis have probably been there and sitting there for a meal makes you feel like you’re a part of something bigger something with history, and I’ve only had good experiences there on my few trips there.

I’ve had many things there including the blintzes which were pretty tasty as well as their corned beef sandwhiches which I love. I’ve also enjoyed some of their pickles, their baked goods (their chocolate rugelachs are awesome) and I hope to one day order and devour the famous “Artie’s Ultimate Fresser” which features turkey, roast beef, corned beef, swiss cheese, onion, coleslaw, Russian dressing and mustard ($16.99).

Everything on the menu is under $20 and their service is great, both behind the deli counter as well as in the dining room. Parking on the street is easy to find and you can also access it via the green line (the Waban T stop is like.. 20 yards away? 30 yards?)

So whether you’re with your bubbi, with friends or with your family, you should definitely swing by this place if you’re looking for a deli fix. I personally like it way better than Zaftigs and it’s a lot easier to get to and park there than if you were to go to Michael’s Deli in Brookline. Fress away!

Yelp Review

Cerul C. Woburn, MA
Corned Beef on Marbled Rye – crave-worthy, best Jewish deli in Boston area in the Newton’s/Waban.

Yelp Review

“Good Jewish authentic deli”
5 of 5 bubblesReviewed July 20, 2014 
Sue-Ann S

So i woken up this morning wanting a bagel with cream cheese lox tomato cuke onion and a side of whitefish. Where else would I go buy Barry’s. The staff is friendly, the selection is great, the prices r not bad at all. I ordered up a little of this and a little of that for lunch this week and I am a happy camper.

Trip Advisor Review

“Can you believe there is a Deli amongst us !!”
4 of 5 bubblesReviewed June 3, 2014
Boston, MA

I have grown up with Deli’s. Sunday a.m. breakfast of nova, onion, bagels, herring,whitefish, baked salmon etc. And for lunch bagels with chopped liver, corned beef, pastrami, brisket, cole slaw and I can go on and on.

Well, Barry’s Village Deli ( http://barrysvillagedeli.com/ ) is worth many visits. A small restaurant
with friendly service and accommodating requests. Parking is available. Prices are reasonable and there are specials.

Did I mention the Soups – great beef and barley, borscht, chicken noodle and matzoh ball. I could keep up the praise but I will stop here.

Check it out.

6 Windsor Road
Waban Square
Newton, MA 02468

Phone: (617)527-8244

  • Visited June 2014
Trip Advisor Review

A Google User

I’m from NY and this is the closest thing to a real NY deli that there is in New England. Honestly much better than the restaurant/deli’s in Brookline. Matzoh ball soup and corned beef is excellent. Pickles are spot-on (both half-sour and sour). Knishes are pretty convincing. White fish salad is awesome (hard to find good white fish in Boston). Excellent stuff. Expensive but very much worth it.

Google Review

Marc G.Marc Grabowski: Anything you get should be on the egg roll. Corned beef and hot mustard is my go-to

jake f.jake furst: bold proclamation: better corned beef here than anywhere in NYC. and amazing potato salad.

Chris S.Chris Steele: Very simple suggestion- lean corned beef. Can’t go wrong.

The 13 Best Places for Corned Beef in Newton--Foursqaure

One more new restaurant review is on the Boston’s Hidden Restaurants site today. Barry’s Village Deli is one of the best, if not THE best delis in all of Boston. Hidden on a side street in the little village of Waban (in Newton), Barry’s has been around for many years, but it is still relatively unknown.

Boston Restaurant Talk

Send Us Your Feedback

6 Windsor Road
Waban Square
Newton, MA 02468
Phone: (617)527-9773
cell1 TAP TO CALL
Fax: (617)965-6619

Reviews

 

News

 

FAQs

 

Restaurant Hours
MONDAY
6:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
TUESDAY 6:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
WEDNESDAY 6:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
THURSDAY 6:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
FRIDAY 6:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
SATURDAY 6:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Dining Room Closes at 3:15
SUNDAY 6:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Dining Room Closes at 2:15

 

6 Windsor Road
Waban Square
Newton, MA 02468
Phone: (617)527-9773
cell1 TAP TO CALL
Fax: (617)965-6619

 
Share This